WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Boggled!

Timing the rain to have just ended, I arrived near Whitby for a family get-together tomorrow. I’ve picked here to stay because there are a couple of very short outings involving me bike and three hills. Once I had my pitch sorted, I drove to Ravenscar to avoid the unavoidable main road which left just six and a bit miles - That’ll be three miles of warm up and three miles of torture please! 

It was a one-way road which you cycle down first so you get a crystal clear idea of what you’ve let yourself in for. It tipped downhill like Park Rash tips downhill. I passed a 33% sign. Gulp! 

I did some chivvying at the bottom. C’mon Bex, you’ve got this! But I knew hanging around encouraging myself was not going to get it done. 

Trundle. Heart. Breathe. 
Repeat.

That’s the only way.

There were a couple of momentary metres of respite in the tarmac and I made the most of those to take a heart beat, maybe two, out of my system. I’d love to say, before powering up the final section, but it’s never like that - only in my dreams! This was stuff nightmares were made of but I got there eventually. It wasn’t in style but it was in the saddle!

There were some great viewpoints looking over Boggle Hole to Robin Hoods Bay… for tomorrow’s outing. There could be trouble ahead!

For now, it’s ten to eight and I’m making the most of an early night. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.