WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

What are you doing here?

That’s a good question, I said. But, they let me through the ‘road closed’, thankfully. And given I was half way down an epically narrow, tatty, and steep piece of long tarmac (not to mention, wet), I was grateful indeed.

In fact, when I finally reached the bottom ready to do what I actually cycled down to Robin Hood’s Bay for, I concluded that the 33% uphill must surely be easier!

Well, cycling down it, I wasn’t so sure but I took a couple of pics and about turned. I’d got here earlyish to avoid the throng of tourists that would be arriving and that did pay off. It was wonderfully quiet. In my focus on the task ahead, I only noticed the waves crashing on the launch ramp as I set off. I’d had quite a good warm up riding in and the epically narrow piece of smart tarmac heading up was in delightfully good condition (and dry) and I couldn’t quite believe I’d reached the top so soon (for me!)

I didn’t pause here because there was a longer hill still to climb. I carried on up and away from the village and back to camp for a spruce up before heading to Filey for afternoon tea with family; the real reason I’m over this way - and a fine couple of hours we had spent chatting in lovely company.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.