Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Rutting season at Bushy Park

Last night I enjoyed watching the movie Barbie (on TV at home) - it has such strong messages on various issues - patriarchy, feminism, objectification of women - that I wondered what was the motivation of Mattel to make the movie? Guilt at creating the Barbie doll and all that it represents? Anyway, the movie was enjoyable, the acting strong - especially Ryan Gosling who was excellent and it has done so well at the box office.

Today we had no fixed plans but it has turned out to be a very busy day. As I was going to bed last night I decided to wake up early to go to Bushy Park before sunrise to photograph the sunrise and the stags in rutting season. As the annual cull is currently taking place the park is opening late, after sunrise, every day of the week so you can only go on the weekend if you wish to see the sunrise there. Unfortunately I woke up at 3am and then dozed until my planned time to get up at 5.50am. I was showered, dressed and in the park by 6.30am, before the sunrise which is now at about 6.50am. 

The sunrise was nothing spectacular - see first extra - but there was a lovely mist on the water of the pond. I met so many other photographers there this morning, one being a friend from my camera club and he introduced me to the usual 'Bushy Park gang'. I also met someone I follow on Instagram, he recognised me so it was good to meet him at last.

Once the sun was up I switched lenses and photographed the bellowing stags. The rut has started but it is not yet at its peak, although there were stags being very protective of their harems. 

I got home for breakfast and then after breakfast we went in to the village as I needed to return an order - we ended up having our annual flu jabs at the pharmacy as there was a sign saying that walk-ins were welcome. We get our flu jabs every year and do not mind paying for it, it is not very expensive - the government usually allows it to be free for under 65's at some point in the winter but I prefer to get it sooner than later and there has been no notice yet of it being scheduled for under 65's.

We went to the monthly food market in the village and picked up a few things for lunch, and then after eating lunch at home we got a last minute booking at the RAC Club for 9 holes of golf. It was such a lovely sunny day and the afternoon was perfect for playing golf. I thoroughly enjoyed my 9 holes and feel like I am improving. 

Tonight Gavin plans to watch the rugby, SA vs Ireland - I may also end up watching it. We all support England first and South Africa second when it comes to rugby (except Gavin's preference is the other way around). Some friends of ours are in Lille to watch the match, it should be very exciting. I have heard many people say that SA has a good chance of winning the tournament - tonight's match will therefore be important for them. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.