Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

MY POOR WALL

Still felt tired this morning so I didn't do much.  Got a message to say there was a parcel to collect from WH Smith in the Metrocentre so I decided to go and pick that up this afternoon.

I looked in M & S first.  I needed a pair of trousers.  There were hundreds of pairs of trousers.  But most of them weren't my style or there were none in my size/leg length.  However after a long search I did find one pair that fitted so I made a purchase. They have done away with cashiers when you want to buy clothes etc  - the only ones available deal with refunds.  So I had to use a self check out.  Seems like more and more shops are going down this route - and Im not keen.

Got home around 6pm and I hadn't been in the house long when the doorbell went.  It was Jackie who lives next door.  She informed me that our front wall had been damaged - hit and run -  so I went out to look.  You can see from my blip shots the state of the wall. 

Turns out Jackie was looking out of the window earlier and saw a black car reverse into the wall, do the damage .... and drive off.  Luckily Jackie also saw that the car had been parked outside another neighbours house before it drove off.   So she contacted the neighbour to get details of the black cars' driver.  Apparently the driver was  the mother of this neighbour's sons ex girlfriend.  And theres bad feeling between them. ( you couldn't make it up could you )  So Jackie phoned this woman up and told her she had seen her hit and damage the wall. ... and what was she going to do about it. The woman put the phone down.  Jackie rang again and it went to voicemail.  I guess if she's the type of person to drive off and not own up to the accident then shes not going to want to talk about it on the phone.  Anyway Jackie has reported it to the police .... but I guess they won't get involved.  Im not sure I want the wall rebuilt as theres always a chance it will get hit again as theres very little room for manoeuvre in The Close.  I think I will just get someone to remove the fallen bricks and tidy/strengthen up what's left of the wall and make it safe. ( The wall is the original one that was built at the same time as the house - around 1956). Not sure if we are going to involve our insurance companies or not - Im waiting to hear what Jackie is going to do.  The whole thing is just more hassle to deal with and I could do without it.

Watched Strictly this evening.  Was impressed with Angela Rippon.  Hard to believe shes 78.

Steps today - 6,519

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.