The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Water walk, cottage near Fromehall mill

Went for a walk with GG this morning. She likes to walk near water, so we set off from a supermarket car park along the Long Ground, which is a green space with the Painswick stream running alongside. G took a call and missed the stream ! (We had a time limit). Then we crossed a main road, went down to the canal, crossed over and went towards Fromehall Mill, where I blipped the stream the other day (Tuesday) to admire the duckpond. There wasn't much life on it. We walked back to the canal and took the towpath back to town. Stopped for a hot chocolate at the former Lock Keepers' inn, then walked back along to Beeches Green, skirting the Catholic Church and the back of the Old Convent (like something from a Gothic fairytale) and even my office window at the surgery! GG wanted to see it. Back to the supermarket, time for a quick shop, then GG dropped me off home.

She'd made some remark to the effect of asking me to find a mini break for us before Christmas. She even offered to pay. Well, I had a look before the rugby, and: you've guessed! Either GG is not free, or there isn't a suitable room for us. What about a train trip? She asked. What indeed? Unless I can use a Railcard and hire a porter, I'm not doing the legwork and the armwork for both of us. Maybe we' ll get some Christmas carols on a boat in Gloucester docks, or something. Frankly, my dear....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.