Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Views

Day 7 - Canada

Not a great night’s sleep.  It was rather cold and no matter how hard I tried I just couldn’t find a comfortable sleeping position.  Also, as this train doesn’t stop a great deal and has a long journey, it continues through the night, so you constantly have the clackety clack of the train and the horn sounding at level crossings.

Today we had some epic views of the Rockies as we travelled across Canada, driving through the Jasper National Park before heading into the prairies of Alberta and finally Edmonton in the evening.

I went up to the Sky Dome part of the train today and you get some cracking views from up there, 360 degrees.  I shall be making good use of that over the next few days me thinks.

I got talking to a German today, who is on a sabbatical from his job, and he is travelling the world.  He’s been to Wales, Iceland and Canada, he’s then moving on to America, South America, the pacific islands and then New Zealand.  It sounds an epic journey.

We made up on the time we lost yesterday as well, so that’s great news.  I sincerely hope we can maintain that, so I arrive in Toronto relatively on time.

It looks like I’m going to be surviving on pot noodle for the next few days, the menu choice is limited, and the chicken sandwich wasn’t the best today.

My cousin, who I stayed with last, emailed me today, right before I stayed with them her neighbour had bears in her back garden, nothing while I was there, and yet today the bears have returned.  Sod’s Law!  I’m guessing that I might miss out on seeing some big bad grizzly bear.

Today I am thankful for:

1. Awesome views
2. Chatting to Jon my German friend
3. Reading time

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.