WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Spot the cat

You'll probably have to go large. I slipped up yesterday and forgot to take any photos. But I did go to our first book group since June. It's always lovely to catch up again after the summer, especially as K has become a granny since the last time we met. And we have a new member, which is good since we've lost a couple. 

I was naughty and didn't get close to finishing the book, Boy, Snow, Bird, by Helen Oyeyemi. Admittedly, I accidentally bought it online in French (they kept the English title! How was I supposed to know?), but that didn't affect my dislike of it. Uninteresting characters, a "relationship" that strained credibility, a "plot" that wasn't. I read some spoilery reviews and could see it wasn't going to get any better, so I gave up. 

A couple of people liked it and the rest were indifferent, so I wasn't an outlier, except in not finishing it. Next month, another new to me author, Julie Otsuka with The Buddha in the Attic, which sounds a bit more interesting.

Today S set off on his RL Stevenson jaunt. So far so good -- the weather looks fabulous, as it is here. I went to Fabrezan to do some shopping, then went for a walk around the village and struggled to find a blip. So here you go -- it saves you from yet another photo of Mystère, who has just become a star in a small way on new social network Bluesky -- I'm looking at it as an escape route from Twitter, I mean X.

As I don't have anything else, have a gratuitous and inappropriate soundtrack -- Raindrops by the Emil Brandqvist trio, because it just happened to come up on Tidal, which I'm listening to as I blip and eat tomato salad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.