That Will Do!

By flumgummery

Aurora!

Delayed in writing my blip for Sunday by a disappearing text, to unwind after a rewrite I was browsing the news channel when a report of 30 minutes previous showed an aurora. Really? We had received no alert.
I shot upstairs (our only viewing position) with the camera and duly peered North.
Nothing, just a vague pale streak.
Then I shot a few frames on whatever setting the camera had been left on and lo! a pale green streak appeared on the screen.
I shouted to Mr Flum to wake up (all of 6 feet away)(ok, maybe 8 feet) and we looked and looked in awe and wonder. This because, after 76 many years of waiting, I have finally witnessed an aurora.
Yes, I know the image is extremely grainy but hey! this is basically a hand-held point-and-shoot, especially when it's too dark to see the controls to improve the settings. The only benefit is that it was taken through air and not glass.
Let's Celebrate the capture and hope for better another time. Please, let there be another time...maybe one of those tall ones that sways and crackles and changes colour and...ok, let's not be greedy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.