MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Coach And Horses, But Not As We Know It

I spotted a wonderful steam train on a low loader on the M11 which I would have loved to photograph but I was driving. :(

I didn't return on the motorway as there's more chance of a photo op on the local roads. Another classic vehicle caught my eye. The Grade II Coach and Horses at Thorley has been refurbished and re-opened today. It was the sign that grabbed my attention. I love it. It features an AEC Regal III coach from 1948, very nostalgic, a coach as I remember them from my childhood. I have discovered that the coach is called Florence as it was first owned by Florence Motors in Morecambe. Shame the tour on the sign is of the Isle of Wight not somewhere local.

I also like the way the name of the pub has been hand painted directly onto the walls. This was quite common between 1930 and 1955, again taking me back. The ones from that time that remain are known as ghostsigns and are popular subjects with photographers. Welll done McMullen.:)

Greene King in Bury St. Edmunds are not doing so well. They have re-branded some of their pubs with green and gold signs with no pictures, more suited to petrol stations. Pictorial pub signs date back to when people couldn't read and are a unique part of our British heritage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.