Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Not happy!

This morning the glass people came to replace the shattered glass panel in the upstairs balustrade. The glass is very thick shatter-poof glass and they were amazed that it had broken. The glass is topped by a dark hard wood balustrade and I was worried that the balustrade would break when they lifted it off to replace the glass, but they did a superb job and all went well - they were done by lunch time. Xena was not happy with the men in her house and all the noise going on. I had to keep her in the study with me with the door closed as there were bits of glass all over the floor and they were worried she would cut her paws.

A few weeks ago I sent in a saliva sample for a DNA ancestry test. I have always wanted to do one of these and when David (RockArea) mentioned he had submitted one, it spurred me on to also get mine done. The reason I wanted to get one done is because I am such a mix of ethnicities, my mother being from Germany and my father being from Cyprus. I have always believed I was more German than Cypriot but the results came today and they were very interesting. My genes are 47% from Cyprus, 37% from Germanic Europe, 6% from Eastern Europe and Russia, 5% from North Western Europe and England, 3% from the Baltics and 2% from the Levant. Obviously no South Africa in that mix as I was the first generation born there and the genes were not long established there to evolve a distinct genetic signature. It also links you to DNA matches with 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th etc cousins which are all from the paternal genes but none from the maternal genes, not sure why.

This afternoon I went for my Dexa bone scan, it took 5 minutes, I was in and out so quickly. The results will be sent to my doctor.

Now I am about to get the train to London, Luke and Meriel very kindly bought me (us) theatre tickets for my birthday. We are going to the National Theatre to see The Father and the Assassin which is about the assassination of Mahatma Gandhi. He spent many years living in Durban, South Africa, my home town and I have always been interested in his life story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.