Munni

By Munni

Lap-Top

After a morning at work, I drove to my mother’s house to deliver groceries, leave instructions for the gardener, and chat with E (the Polish live-in carer) and Frau G (the German helper) about the upcoming carers’ change. 

We all sat outside in the sunshine, and my mother’s old cat Lisa came to jump first on my and then on on Frau G’s lap, to get cuddled. Lisa is a rescue cat. She moved in with my mother in 2006, already fully grown, so she is now at least 18 years old, and still quite fit. 

It was a pleasant afternoon, until I returned home and found an email from the carers’ agency. The carer whom I had talked to yesterday (and who was due to take over from E on Sunday) has cancelled. 

Now they offered to send us another lady, who doesn’t have much experience and can’t speak German. I refused, furious, because this has happened several times before - although they know that my mother won’t cooperate with anyone whom she can’t communicate with. 
So we’re back on square one, and the whole process of finding a temporary substitution for E starts again tomorrow…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.