This is the day

By wrencottage

Thankfulness

This is a hastily-shot phone photo of part of the counter at the Atrium café at church. I don’t care that it’s such a bad picture, because I’m just so happy to have been out of the house (other than to drive to a hospital) for the first time in four weeks. I walked up there just after Smithers was taken to his glaucoma appointment by my eldest and youngest sons, and delivered the bereavement anniversary cards I made yesterday. It was so good to feel the fresh air on my cheeks and see the sunshine! 

The first person I saw on entering the Atrium was a good friend of mine who has been supporting us in prayer, and who has first hand experience of something of what Smithers is going through. She told me over a coffee about her glaucoma surgery (in both eyes) and I felt hugely encouraged, because I know she can see well and that she’s still driving. I then went back home to catch up on lots of jobs, as well as roasting a chicken and making some coleslaw. 

The chaps returned four hours later, just as I was taking a phone call from the hospital to book Smithers in for pre-op assessments tomorrow, which told me that progress had been made.

The outcome of the appointment was excellent. The consultant came in especially to see Smithers even though she's on holiday this week – how good is that? – and had been well briefed on his case history by the cataract surgeon. She reassured him that she often sees patients who have a bad reaction to pressure-reducing medication, and that in these cases there are surgical interventions that can permanently lower the pressure. She has chosen the best option for Smithers, an aqueous shunt, which will be done under general anaesthetic as soon as possible. She is highly experienced in this field, which is reassuring, and has also promised him that the forthcoming consultants’ strike will have no effect on him whatsoever, because she WILL be operating on him.  

I am just blown away by the kindness and concern of so many people, family, friends and those in the medical profession, and so hugely grateful to every single one of them. And also to my Blipfoto friends, who have continued to comment and give out stars and hearts to me throughout, even when I’ve been unable to reciprocate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.