This is the day

By wrencottage

With a Little Help from my Friends ...

I’m pleased to say we have made quite a bit of progress today. 

Last night our eldest son cancelled various job commitments and drove up here from Winchester. He will be staying with us for the next few days, which will be such a great help to me.  

Our youngest son’s best friend, who is a GP living quite a distance from us, had arranged to come and visit Smithers around 4.30 to talk through his recent health problems with him. He then kindly offered to come to the hospital with him for a 5.30 appointment with Smithers' consultant, who had asked to see him when he heard how unwell he still was. 

Over the weekend I had ordered a wheelchair to help Smithers through the long corridors at the big local hospital where the glaucoma clinic is held. It arrived today, just in time to be used for the outpatients appointment at the smaller local hospital too. Perfect timing.

Thus it was that Smithers went off to the appointment this evening, being driven by our youngest son, and accompanied by our eldest son and the GP friend, with the wheelchair stowed in the boot! I stayed at home, very grateful for being given a break from the responsibility. 

Just after they left I received an email from the church office saying they were running out of the photo cards which they send out on the first anniversary of a person’s bereavement. I thought it would be a good use of my time to print some off while the house was quiet, so I gave my new printer its first proper trial. I printed eighteen cards, and it passed with flying colours.

I have so many things (and people) to be grateful for today, and feel very blessed.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.