SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Resolved

Having walked Django, I arrived right on time for the seminar on Impact aimed at early career researchers. I gave a 10-minute account of "My Impact journey", giving my experience and advice on creating impact outside academia (the quality of which partially determines a School's research funding). Unfortunately, although the landscape is changing slowly, research output is still too important, so I had to advise them to stick to that.

In the afternoon, I failed to get stuck into anything, as I had a sequence of conversations with colleagues, some of which were more enjoyable than others!

On Saturday I was sent the extra by the other person in the photo. It's a rare photo of me as a boy. We discussed when it might have been taken - I remembered precisely where (Hull docks), and that it was the Winston Churchill sail training ship in the background.  At the end of the afternoon today he emailed me to say that (using the cunning detective work of turning the photo over!) it was from 1972: I was almost 8 and he was almost 7. Our parents were at university together and, although we've not met since that time in 1972, helping our mothers keep in touch - his also died this year - has brought us into contact. We'll probably meet in December when he - another academic - visits Edinburgh for a week.

Back home, A had cooked, and it was dark by the time we'd finished eating, so the only scope for a photo was Kermit, who wasn't amused by me trying to get his attention!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.