Living my dream

By Mima

Julie

This is one of the five horses over the road, who I look after from time to time. She is the friendliest of horses, usually eager to spend time with me if I hang over the fence to chat to her. But just at the moment she’s a bit standoffish.

Sometime in the next month she will be having a foal. I suspect she’s uncomfortable. She’s enormous. But she still manages to roll on her back in the mud.

It has been another cloudy chilly day. That notwithstanding I have sown the parsnips direct into the bed. They’ll take a while to germinate. I always get antsy waiting for them to appear; fearing the worst. But they pop up eventually, fighting their way through the weeds.

I hadn’t quite registered previously that almost 12 months passes between sowing the seeds to eating the final roots. I don’t think any other annual crop lasts so long.

I’ve also sown the courgettes: Black Beauty, Cocozelle and Romanesco. And squashes: Butternut, Whanagaparoa Crown and Buttons (Scallopini). 3 of each. 

If they all germinate it gives me enough for my needs and to barter the remainder with a couple of friends.

I’ve felt a bit weary today. I’m sure this cool weather is impacting my mood. I’ll feel a lot better once the sun comes out again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.