Everyday Life

By Julez

Tree Time 2023 Part 9

Yesterday I went to visit my Dad in the hospital and to my great surprise I was told he was going to be discharged back to the care home that evening. He was not happy and did not think it would work as he can do even less now than before. The staff and I tried to reassure him that the home staff had been given a full update on his condition and were up to date on how things stand, but he's not convinced. He is understandably concerned about having more falls*, and has been told that he shouldn't so long as he uses his buzzer and is patient and waits for staff to come to help him. 

It makes sense as all they can really do in the hospital is give medication, which can be just as easily done in the home. It's not like last time when he was discharged back to his own bungalow.

Today all I have done is more domestic jobs - cleaning the bathroom and the hob and surrounding tiles in the kitchen, sorting bins out laundry...yadayadayada. I listened to a couple of podcasts instead of music for a change today - a politics one and a Rugby League one!

Talking of Rugby, there is great consternation currently about Wigan using a rule that allows players to serve a disciplinary suspension by being named in a reserve team squad if the first team does not have a game that week. Three of our players had one match suspensions from last week, and have been named in the reserves  for this week. This will count as their banned game, leaving them free to play in the Playoff semi finals next week. 

Fans of other teams are up-in-arms about this, but it does not infringe any rules and other teams have used this rule/loophole in the past, including some this season. There was not this amount of furore then! I can see why the rule itself could be a problem - but it cannot be changed during the season. If it is such a problem they should change it after this season ends, before the next starts!

As the end of the month will soon be upon us I thought I must go to the Arboretum and get my tree photo for this month while I still can! Definitely showing signs of Autumn now. I don't like how HDR-ish this looks. I've tried to fix it to no avail!

*Why is it when a younger person trips over their own feet they "fell over" but if it is someone of pension age or more, they "had a fall"?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.