Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Dead-beat dad

Ruby-throated hummingbird (Archilochus colubris), also know as a dead-beat dad. I know, it's not a nice moniker, but it fits. P-Hummie and his ilk are polygamous, unlike the majority members of the avian world. He will impregnate as many females as possible in a breeding season and will take no part whatsoever in the nesting, brooding or feeding of his offspring. In fact, he'll chase the females and any juveniles away from "his" feeders. It's a good thing he's so darned good looking, isn't it?

This morning I went out on the deck for a quick pot of tea before my work day began. While I was there, one of the nesting females darted in for some nectar and about 15 seconds later, P-Hummie nearly tore my head off on his way past me to chase Madame away from the feeder. It was an epic hummie moment. Wings were buzzing and birds were chattering. Then P landed on a branch and put on a little show, part of which I captured in this shot. Mr. Fancy Pants.

In other news ... I think the chickadees are back from their week in the woods. The wrenlets must be hatching because mom and dad are shuttling bugs and worms into the nest box. And in between trips, dad is singing for all he's worth. The cedar waxwings stopped in for a nosh at the cherry tree, looking resplendent even while sneaking up on cherries. The other hummingbird (clearwing moth) showed up even though it was pouring rain. I saw the first Red-bellied woodpecker fledgling with dad this morning. Junior is staying up in the trees while dad shuttles suet, but I expect to get a good shot of the young 'un in the next few days. Baby RBWs are adorable!

And Tulip the squirrel kid brought a couple of her siblings around to explore the deck and play hide and seek in the cherry tree. Mom was nowhere to be seen, but the three kids hung close together.

So a wet, somewhat icky day here in NJ. Guess it is good that I had a load of work to get done today...

Thanks for sending my fat-bottomed dragon to the Spotlight page - and for your lovely comments. I am very fortunate to have so many great blip subjects in the summer.

xxoo
Debbi

PS: I just noticed that on this day last year, I posted my annual inaugural photo of P-Hummie...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.