curns' corner

By curns

They’re back

It’s Monday and it’s spring. After last week’s adventures walking around Disneyland I thought I ought to try to keep up the walking habit and, at 8:20am, I was out for a 30 minute walk. Since lockdown, when I started the habit, and throughout this journal I have referred to this as the walk around the block.  In general, that’s how I see it. I used to cross only some minor side roads and loop back at the junction where Bushey Road meets Kingston Road. After a while I extended the time and walked a little further on, coming back round on Merton Hall Road and down the path adjacent to Wimbledon Chase Primary School..  In more recent times I added a third option to the route extending the walk up Merton Hall Road, past Wimbledon School of Art, and left onto Toynbee Road to connect back with Kingston Road and into Raynes Park.  Today, I opted for the middle of these routes which was, almost exactly, 30 minutes. Busy traffic on the walk down Bushey Road, busy with parents walking their children to school on the footpath and quietest on the part of Kingston Road that meets Raynes Park Station.

Nice to be out again. It wasn’t too cold and the daffodils were certainly shouting that spring has arrived.  In my mind I have taken lots of pictures of daffodils in this journal.  When I try to find them I struggle to find many. I suspect it’s because, in spring, I walk past them every day and think to myself, “no, not again”.  There was, however, a daffodil-related entry almost exactly two years ago.

We had a marketing meeting about ‘the relaunch’ of Iris that is less of a relaunch and more of a refinement of the messaging now that there is more product. I avoided being pulled into these meetings in the future by luck, but I don’t think I have anything to add as I am not spending my time with customers at the moment.

After work, I went to the gym

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.