Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Agnes

Today was the first in a while when I've been so aware of the weather, in that by the time I needed to go out there was enough rain falling to act as a deterrent - though a deterrent I ignored. It was calm enough in the morning - and dry - for the intermittent builder to turn up before I was out of my lazy bed (nice wee transferred epithet there ...) to replace a large lump of stone that had been dumped on our grass and that I considered essential to prevent a bit of the neighbour's garden from sliding onto our new steps; he told Himself that he'd be back to re-do the bottom steps and replace the gate when the weather allows.

The morning, once I got started, was taken up with an attempt before coffee time to clean some of the kitchen cupboard doors. As you may have realised from yesterday's photo, my kitchen is small, with a low ceiling which traps a lot of cooking deposits that are hell to clean. I managed two cupboards before I felt my shoulder was coming out ... and the need for the coffee took over. Then we spent an age, both of us together, filling in our details for this cruise we've booked for January - things like dietary requirements and preference for pillow types ...

The ongoing saga of me and the GP surgery continued throughout the day, beginning with a call from the doctor in the morning about an infection that will require a double course of antibiotics, one of which means no alcohol while I'm taking them. Doom. I've had it before; not a pleasant memory - especially as the last time I was in France with a school exchange and had to forego the usual relaxing glass of an evening. I was also waiting for a call from the practice nurse, but when the rain eased a little in the late afternoon I decided I had to go out to drop off something and ended up just having an in-person chat with her. This is always entertaining in a way that makes up for the various ailments that brought about the consultation - this is the nurse I taught for a couple of years and we've always had a laugh. (I think she was on the aforementioned French Exchange too...). I also went down to the local swimming pool to check on the best times if I want to get back to swimming - the whole layout has been changed since I last went, which was discombobulating. 

I took the photo above, the only one of the day, from the front near the pool. Despite the wind's being from the east and therefore onshore, the tide was receding and there were only subdued waves despite the strength of the wind. It was, however, unutterably dreary and the town felt deserted as I went for a duty trek along the main street while I waited for my prescription. The pharmacist came out specially to warn me about the no-alcohol rule, and I raised a laugh among the three other customers waiting for items when I wailed "I know!" It's a dreadful thing, living in a small town and not giving a toss any more - but at least it seemed to cheer everyone up.

Our day ended as usual with online Compline. I'm not sure I don't enjoy it more than any other service, even without actually being in church. As I locked up a little while ago, I could hear the sea as if it were all around me, roaring over the silence of the town. Goodnight, Storm Agnes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.