YellowBalloon

By YellowBalloon

Goodbye London

Our trip to the capital is over.  We thoroughly enjoyed visiting our son and his fiancee and also having a day trip to Canterbury.  

I first visited London when I was 19.  It was so different compared to Newcastle at that time and I absolutely loved it.  On my first visit my main purpose was to see the shops which were so exciting compared to the ones in my home city.  I remember visiting Harrods, Fortum & Mason, the fabulous Biba (where I bought a t shirt that I still have) and Kensington Market - 3 floors of hippie clothes (well it was the 1970's).   The clothes were definitely different to the ones being worn in Newcastle at that time.  Now things have changed and we have a lot of the same shops as London and anything and everything can be bought online but it definitely wasn't like that in the seventies.  London was definitely ahead of the field.  

My love of London has stayed with me and I still find it exciting and always see something or someone a bit different when I am there.  However, as much as I love visiting a couple of times a year I enjoy coming home too.  

My photos were taken around St Pancras and Coal Drops Yard area of London.  The car was parked outside of the hotel at St Pancras.  I have seen eye catching cars parked outside before and I think they are put there by the hotel to get people's attention (which they certainly do).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.