Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

Fixing the lamp

When Annemarie and I visited my mother this evening it was quite darker than usual in her living room. It turned out one of her table lamps was broken. The cord to the switch inside had snapped. I decided to take it home with me to repair it. Because I couldn't find a proper screwdriver and new cord at my mom's place.

Back home the repair proces started immediately. I soon discovered another hidden defect that had been repaired by my dad long ago, in his typical manner.

The fitting of one of the 2 lamps came loose, because a clamp was broken. My dad had fixed that by winding a garbage bag binder around it. Haha, made me laugh. That's typical the way he fixed things. Well, it has worked perfectly for years. Well done dad, but now its my turn to fix it.

I was able to fix the switch with a new cord, and the fitting as well. I thought of winding a new binder around it for a second, but decided to use BISON Superglue instead. I did it my way. Worked out just fine.

Tomorrow I'll return the lamp to my mother.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.