Cygnus

By Cygnus

Lisbon (again)

I liked this photo as it had two things typical of Lisbon, a tram and the lovely ironwork balconies. This is definitely a city where you have to remember to look up!

Today we walked to the Elevador do San Juste, a famous landmark, but we kept walking because the queue to get onto the elevator was a tad long. In fact, not just long but tediously slow-moving!

So we climbed the steps and hills beyond the Baixa until we reached Barrio Alta. I thought that Alta meant old, but of course when I got up there I realised that the word referred to height!

We stopped for coffee in a small museum beside a Jesuit church (the only one to survive the earthquake of 1755) which turned out to be a serendipitous find, quiet and serene in a beautiful enclosed courtyard with locals and bamboo plants the only other company there.

Now back at our air bnb after a foray to the Time Out market - and amazingly busy place! Lunch will be here in our shady apartment; the most delicious local tomatoes with soft bread rolls from the shop next door.

I am counting these days among my blessings. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.