Cygnus

By Cygnus

Home again!

From 33°C in Lisbon yesterday to 15°C in good old Bangor today, we’re back to the dreichness! It’s still good to be home. The Ards Man had to swing by the marina to make sure that Storm Agnes hadn’t reduced the boat to kindling.

We’ve returned to extensive road works by Northern Ireland Electricity right at the bottom of our cul-de-sac, with one way traffic in operation. This didn’t really matter at 4:50am this morning when we arrived home from Dublin, as there were no other cars on the road as we ventured a different way to the designated traffic flow. Now in the cold light of day we have to make a diversion of a couple of miles just to get into our own street! I’m going to have to walk to the shops and leave the car at home - quelle horreurs!

I’m also home to the cold light of day on a giant scab on my face, courtesy of a little biopsy of a wee bleb that had been growing there. A lovely dermatologist took a sample and then burned the offending growth away which a hot wire. Even though I’d had a local anaesthetic injected it was sore. The resulting scab (which should fall off in a few days) is about ten times the size that the bleb was! I didn’t mind wandering about Lisbon with this carbuncle, but now I’m home I feel obliged to explain to folk who exclaim in horror (I’m exaggerating, people’s eyes have been sliding away from it…) about how this has come to be.

Anyhoo, I’m grateful that the bleb has gone and hopefully it will stay away and I’ll only have a small and very interesting scar left behind. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.