CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The Stroud Preservation Trust's trustees

Stroud Preservation Trust is launching its new website very soon and we needed a picture of the trustees. As the regular photographer I, of course, offered to get the picture and tonight was the night. Early this evening we gathered at the rear entrance of the Brunel Goods Shed, which seemed to be the only reasonable location. I got my tripod out of cold storage and tried to work out the logistics of being in the picture and getting a useable image. Only Harry was missing.

From left to right are Richard, Rachel, Anne, Hugh, Camilla and Steve. The Trust has achieved a lot over 30 years , and only Anne has been active all that time. Hugh has been away and now returned; the rest of us are relatively recent conscripts.

As soon as we finished the pictures Hugh and I went off to look at the wharf beside the canal lock at Wallbridge which is subject to a developer's interest. I had arranged for him to come to the Consultations committee at 7-30pm to talk about how the council might prepare a policy position about the potential developments beside the canal which is undergoing a big regeneration push. Hugh is a recently retired Professor of Planning, Health and Sustainability who cares enormously about this town. The Trust is very lucky to have him rejoin us, and now the town will also benefit from his generosity in advising us all on the potential future prospects for key parts of our environment. The committee were really pleased to have him talking to us and the benefit of his expertise.

I decided to use this picture as my blip because much of my photography is documentation with a view to using it to convey messages and information and to try and effect positive change. So although I don't get paid for them, I do know that my pictures will very often be used, and thus are useful, I hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.