Heads up

Helena asked me to drive her up to Minchinhampton Common so we could find a good spot for her picnic party the weekend after next. She is celebrating her last birthday which she had in wintry February, by inviting some friends to join her on a warm mid-summer's day, where they can eat, drink and be merry. There was talk of which games she should bring. My suggestion of rounders wasn't thought highly of. Perhaps there will be mind games instead.

We parked at an easily found small car park on the top of the common which most people should be able to spot. Then we walked a couple of hundred yards over the traditional managed Cotswold grassland, which the National Trust maintains with the use of the grazing cows belonging to the Commoners, who have the age old rights to let their cattle roam from May to October. I spotted a skylark coming down from on high to land in some thick grass and walked towards where I thought it would be sitting, but I couldn't find it.

Then I decided to photograph some long horned Highland cattle that were having a siesta by lying down in the long grass, and keeping out of the unusually strong wind that was blowing today. I noticed a man and his girl-friend sheltering in the lee of a small rampart and ditch. I also tried to catch this view with a flock of starlings that were flying above the herd but they wouldn't play ball. I think the cow in the foreground is pregnant, as I saw a couple of calves in the herd and many of the cows seem very large which might account for their lying down. Perhaps when we come back for Helena's party we will find some more calves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.