Bees on the Borage

I spent much of the day writing Minutes of the big meeting on Monday evening and clarifying details of information that we need. I'm not really used to sitting with endless documents open on the screen for hours on end. Hopefuly I will be finished by lunchtime tomorrow.

I had to go to the doctor's surgery as I've developed a strange pain which i wanted to get checked. Luckily I was able to be seen this afternoon with only a short wait, which is terrific service given what many people have to go through. I am registered with an anthroposophical general practice on the NHS, which must be very rare, which offers an alternative approach if desired, but also provides the standard medical service if not. The surgery is a lovely purpose built wooden building sited on a slope over looking the Painswick stream, close to where it joins the river Frome.

After I had seen the doctor I took my camera out into the garden which is filled with herbs and plants that are linked to anthroposophical medicine. I wanted to play with my new lens again to see what results I would get. The sun was shining intermittently and there were some plants in flower. I was drawn to the varieties of bees that were attracted to this Borage plant whose blue flowers I particularly like. We have some which have now self seeded in our own garden but these ones were quite mature and large,

I was trying to get sharp shots of the bees in flight rather than just feeding frenziedly on the nectar. But I found it surprisingly hard even at shutter speeds of 1/8000 with a high ISO. Getting the depth of field was tricky and I can see why using a tripod would be helpful and setting up shots rather than trying to race around after the bees. But I am pleased with the clarity and sharpness that is obviously possible so with a bit more practice I might get some good results.

From Wiki:
Borage (Borago officinalis), also known as a starflower, is an annual herb. It is native to the Mediterranean region and has naturalized in many other locales.

Traditionally Borago officinalis is used in hyperactive gastrointestinal, respiratory and cardiovascular disorders, such as gastrointestinal (colic, cramps, diarrhea), airways (asthma, bronchitis), cardiovascular, (cardiotonic, antihypertensive and blood purifier), urinary (diuretic and kidney/bladder disorders).

In Iran people make a tea to relieve colds, flu, bronchitis, rheumatoid arthritis, and kidney inflammation. It is said to be warm in nature and alleviates symptoms that are caused by using food that is cold in nature such as cucumber and fish. People with heart problems can benefit using the borage tea, since it promotes supply of more oxygen to the heart, and that is why one should use this herb in moderate amounts.

Naturopathic practitioners use borage for regulation of metabolism and the hormonal system, and consider it to be a good remedy for PMS and menopause symptoms such as the hot flash. The flowers can be prepared in infusion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.