This is the day

By wrencottage

Waiting

It’s been a day of waiting, but sadly we didn’t get the phone call we were hoping for, giving us a date for Smithers’ operation.

Nevertheless, it was productive in other ways. I washed Smithers’ hair for him over the basin this morning, and then once I’d dried it I trimmed the back and sides with his electric shaver. He desperately needs a proper haircut but that will have to wait until his eyesight has significantly improved. I did trim his hair quite often during lockdown, but it’s safe to say that I’m definitely not super talented in that direction, so we’ll wait for some expert attention!

Later on in the morning I also managed to squeeze in a haircut for myself, coming home to a wonderful lunch of moussaka, freshly cooked by our eldest son, with a second dish all ready to go in the freezer. I could get used to being spoiled like this! While I was out he also went through Smithers’ emails with him and sorted out some tax and legal matters which I have been unable to tackle while Smithers has been so unwell. 

This climbing rose with its clusters of miniature white blooms is looking a lot prettier than the rest of my rose bushes, which are sorely in need of dead heading, but I’m afraid they, like us, will have to keep waiting patiently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.