TrishaR

By TrishaR

Isla Court

It felt a bit odd to me going back into Isla Court. It was 22 August that I said goodbye to mum’s flat here after clearing it all out. So heading back, after being invited to their Macmillan coffee morning I felt like I didn’t want to go. But I did and was glad I did.

I did have a few teary moments which is fine. Spent a fortune on the Tombola. It was funny afterwards when all the Tombola prizes had gone the swapping of items between the residents which they had won. Norman doesn’t drink so the big bottle of whisky and gin that he won were swapped for a box of roses and a tub of biscuits. The lady that got the gin decided to put it in to the Christmas raffle.

The lady on the left is my Mum’s friend Zina. I’m glad she took over my mum’s seat (they all have their owns seats). I had a wee chat with her afterwards when I carried her bag of prizes upstairs. She’s missing her good friend, it’s not the same with Denise (who has a personality that can be a bit cutting and you need to be someone that can take that and Zina is a quieter, gentler person. But then there was also the loss of Aileen too for her, not just Mum. Mum and Aileen were fun loving, quick witted and for her to lose both has affected her. Especially mum who was a best friend to her for 9 years. I felt for her.

They raised 180 pounds for MacMillan- well done. They were complimentary about my loaf but I know myself it was DRY!


I got home around 1, pottered about, swore at the destruction of a beautiful tree. The murder of a young girl, the senselessness of it. Thought of her poor family. Why the murderer is allowed to be nameless at 17 but deemed old enough to be married at 16. Should be named.

Sewed on five badges to bens scout shirt. Finished knitting Cameron’s blanket for his room. Wonder if I’ll get an order from Juno for one of these……

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.