Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

THIS WAS MY DAY - ALMOST!

We had friends, R & D, round for coffee this morning - they aren’t on my Blip - but we did have a lovely time chatting with them.  I knew them from many years ago at Church but despite Mr. HCB not knowing them for quite as long, we all got on, as they say, “like a house on fire” - a strange expression, but it means “to establish quickly and maintain a very good relationship” which I think is very true.  

We are all Christians attending the same Church so were able to chat about various things appertaining to our Church and other things too, of course, and the time went very quickly.  Both men like doing jigsaw puzzles, so R went home with a 500 piece one recently completely by Mr. HCB so he was happy.  

We chatted about going out walking and I said that I was totally out of practice, not having been out for a proper walk for about 5 months, since my back issues started.  R suggested Stanton Park, which is flat, but I thought it might be too far for a first walk.

We had lunch and then decided that a wander down to the garage at Coate Water might be a good idea with Mr. HCB saying that if I could only manage to walk down there and didn’t think I could walk back, then he could come back and get the car.  However, I was quite determined to walk both ways, so off we set.

I didn’t take a bag, but took my phone, of course, and Mr. HCB put my selfie stick in his pocket.  The first thing I saw as this advertisement on the bus shelter, which said “Give a Smile” so I decided to give one of mine!  A couple walking past gave me a strange look, but I’m used to that by now and it doesn’t faze me one bit!  It was lovely to be out in the fresh air and the sun was shining, so we just ambled along, although I was glad of Mr. HCB’s arm, as the footpath isn’t that good because tree roots have pushed up the tarmac in many places.  However, we made it but I was quite tired by the time we got to the garage.

I had seen the BP Pulse machine on our way into the garage, so thought that if necessary, I could give myself a quick boost on the way back!  I mentioned this to Mr. HCB who walked off shaking his head - sometimes I know he despairs of me - I don’t know why!

Anyway, I decided that I could walk back because if Mr. HCB came home for the car, there was nowhere for me to sit, except on top of some steps, which wasn’t a very good idea.  And then I had a better idea - at the bottom of the steps was a brand new Porsche, so I said to Mr. HCB that I was going to take a shot of the car and said to him that I wondered if the owner would be happy to give me a lift home, whereupon he just shook his head and carried on walking!  Trust me, I am not mad, I just like to use what I see in my Blips! 

As I was taking a few shots, a man came down the steps with an armful of goodies he had obviously just bought in the garage and walked towards the car so I asked him if he was the owner and he confirmed he was.  By this time, naturally, Mr. HCB had made his way back and got chatting to the man - and what a lovely man he was.  He told us it was an electric Porsche and that he had another one at home - as you do!!  He said he worked in the F1 trade and was something to do with design.  We didn’t like to ask too many questions, but I did say that I had asked if the driver would like to give me a lift home as I was out for my first walk for over 5 months after having back surgery, and then we all laughed when Mr. HCB said that I might get in, but I would have a real job getting out!

Mr. HCB also told the man that he had been over to Stuttgart with our son to collect his Porsche, a 911 GT3, a few years back, going on a Wednesday and not getting back until Sunday, so they chatted about that and other Porsche-related stuff.

So that was my day - but we still had to walk back from the garage - and I was very tired by the time we got back.  We only went down for a loaf of bread, but as they had a pack of four Double Chocolate Muffins reduced, we thought it would be rude not to buy them!  Mr. HCB isn’t that keen on chocolate, but said he would eat one to keep me company, so when we got back, we had a cup of coffee and a muffin each and very nice they were.  

A lovely day all in all - and I’m so glad I am feeling better, although cream-crackered now, so I will be resting this evening that’s for sure.  I am still trying to reduce my medication and that is proving more difficult than I thought, but I will get there.  Thank you for all your kind and caring comments following yesterday’s Blip - very short for me (!) - so this one today will make up for it! 

P.S.  The Porsche owner was so kind and said that even though it was electric, there was a "noise" he could put on, which he said he would do as he drove off, and he did!  

P.P.S.  I managed 2,758 steps - I'm happy with that as my first "go"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.