THE LAST ROSE OF SUMMER

Our Compassion Rose hasn’t been that good this year, probably because of the drought, but on a wander around the garden early this morning - fully dressed because it’s darn cold out there - I spotted this little bud, together with three others, ready to bloom.

I realise we shall miss seeing them as we are away, but it was good to see it this morning and it brightened my day.

Now I need to go and pack and sort out the route for our journey.  I’m not that good with the navigation system on the car, so have asked Mr. Google which way to go as Mr. HCB says he wants to avoid Coventry and Birmingham.  However, I have told him that he won’t have Mrs. Satnag shouting in his ear, but me, and he says he is quite happy with that - that’s a first for sure!

The case will soon be full of warm clothing because if it’s as cold “oop north” as it is down here, we shall need them - and I am also taking my electric throw.  When I asked Mr. HCB if he wanted to take his, he looked at me disdainfully and shook his head - well I just hope he doesn’t live to regret that decision!

I didn’t feel like turning this beautiful rose into an abstract or use a filter on it, so please enjoy it, as I did, in all its glory.

“T’is the last rose of summer
     Left blooming alone;
 All her lovely companions
     Are faded and gone.”
Thomas Moore 
Irish poet, singer and songwriter 1779 - 1852

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.