talloplanic views

By Arell

Hold on

It's nothing like finished but it's coming together.  Once it was assembled with great globs of construction adhesive that takes a day or two to cure, I spent the rest of the morning planing the curve out of a scaffolding board that was cupped.  It'll probably be one of the less important pieces of the top, as I have two much somewhat nicer boards to use.  Hand planing is hard work.  A thicknesser would've done the entire job in less than a minute.  Next stop is maybe a bit of dowelling to doubly secure the tenons, and then to slosh a load of wood preserver on it.

Norm Abram always said you can never have too many clamps, but I think I ran out.  Whenever I use one it always makes me laugh because I think of The Robot Mafia in Futurama.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.