Life is....

Mostly sweet with a few pits!

I know but I was feeling fruity and had these delicious cherries sitting on the table. It's pouring rain outside so I decided to blip these little red orbs of goodness. You know summer has arrived when fresh cherries are available to purchase. Maybe it's a memory trigger because the minute I taste one it makes me smile and reminds me of summer. I've had the same experience with other things. I can smell or taste something and it stirs a memory, usually from a long time ago.
Till this day I can't eat a pot pie without remembering being 4 or 5 years old and being forced to finish one of those individual frozen ones you just heat in the oven. Yuck I hated the taste of frozen veggies mixed in a gelatinous sauce stuffed inside a pie crust with freezer burn. Maybe I'm exaggerating a little but I really didn't like it. This was when the phrase 'there are starving children in China' was popular and you were considered to be ungrateful if you didn't finish your entire meal.
So back to the cherries...they look good, they taste good and they are actually really good for you. Plus, let's face it, when it's raining all day your options are limited.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.