Journey Through Time

By Sue

Conflicted!

Boy am I ever conflicted, because I have agonized over what picture to put up today. I decided to show you our rose bush, Hot Cocoa. I went to look over the roses a while ago, and wow, this rose is just gorgeous....courtesy of the fantastic spring weather, I assume. It is loaded with blossoms and it really looks pretty at the moment. So, who knows if tomorrow it will look equally spectacular, so I better show it to you before it falls apart.

The other contender was this image of the Historical Museum in Gresham, OR. Now all you folks in Europe, and elsewhere, don't snicker...but this building is celebrating it's 100th birthday. It was originally a Carnegie Library and is now a museum.


A Carnegie library is a library built with money donated by Scottish-American businessman and philanthropist Andrew Carnegie. A total of 2,509 Carnegie libraries were built between 1883 and 1929, including some belonging to public and university library systems. 1,689 were built in the United States, 660 in Britain and Ireland, 125 in Canada, and others in Australia, New Zealand, Serbia, the Caribbean, Mauritius and Fiji.

Few towns that requested a grant and agreed to his terms were refused. When the last grant was made in 1919, there were 3,500 libraries in the United States, nearly half of them built with construction grants paid by Carnegie.


As always, you are welcome to see today's images on my Flickr page. I have some bushtits and chickadees in the spa and then I added some other photos I'd taken in the past at the Botanical Garden. Feel free to browse, if you wish. Or not. Your choice.... ;)

Auntie had an appointment at her dentist and I took her there, which was why I was in Gresham. We had lunch at the Lebanese restaurant and then I came home, where Bill was tearing apart his greenhouse to re-organize it. The man has lost 20 pounds. His energy level is much improved and he is looking quite handsome, I must say. His heart doctor is going to be ecstatic! So, that's the answer folks to losing weight....work for 5 to 7 hours a day in a garden nursery!

Catch ya later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.