Sunny outlook

The day didn't begin very auspiciously. The first visit of the surgeon's medical team was led by a different doctor, and all he had to say was that I would 'probably be done this week'. For God's sake! It was only on Friday that his colleague had told me I'd definitely have surgery on either Wednesday or Friday. Once again, my face dropped with disappointment and frustration. I asked him when I might expect a definite and he said 'the Professor will be coming around shortly; he'll speak to you'.

Sure enough, it wasn't long before the surgeon did indeed come around, with a different collection of minions in tow. He spent for ever at the bed beside mine and then got sidetracked to take a phone call, while I could feel the tension and stress building all the while. Then there he was, in front of me. As it happened, I didn't have any need of the lines I'd been carefully rehearsing (but you said yourself on Thursday that I'd be done on Wednesday or Friday, and your junior then told me there was a slim chance I could even be done last Friday; now I'm being told that it's gone from definitely to probably). He stood there, asked me how I was feeling (fine, thanks), asked if I'd had any pain (a little bit yesterday morning, but the spray cleared that up quickly); and then he said the magic words -- You're scheduled for Wednesday morning.

HALLE-bloody-LUJAH!!

Naturally, I was back over the moon after the temporary disappointment not long before. I dashed off text messages to all and sundry, spreading the glad tidings. I ran down to the front door and blipped a bit, savouring the bright sunlight and the glorious fresh air. I walked along the link corridor to the other grotty entrance and sat with the junkies for a bit. That's when I looked up and saw the blue sky and the fluffy little clouds reflected in the (not so clean) glass of the concourse building.

So that was it. There were other mundane instances during the day, with patients coming and going and minor dramas in the ward, but they ll pale into insignificance compared to the big news of the day:

Dublin Shooter's getting his bypass on Wednesday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.