Stairwell

This morning I finished packing for our week at the Boston Early Music Festival. I fed the cat. Made sandwiches for our lunch. Closed the windows and bang! The power went out in Helena's apartment. Luckily we were able to contact the super and all was well by the time we took a taxi to the Emerson College dormitory where we are staying for the week of the Festival. We settled in our room and ate our lunch. Then we wandered down to the hotel to see what was up.

Nothing yet but there we met a member of Hesperian, the leader actually, and we shared a taxi together. She was delightful to talk to. It was too early for the first event so we all went for coffee until it was time for the 4 pm master class taught by Dame Emma Kirkby. While we waited for it to start, I photographed the nearby stairwell as I was not allowed to take pictures during the class. Four young singers performed and received amazing instruction from Emma Kirkby. I loved every minute of it. Even though i don't sing anymore, it all really resonated with me. Arvin liked it too.

Next we went to a talk by the head of the research department of the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum in Salzburg. They had brought two original instruments that had been owned by Mozart, a violin and a viola, for the first time to the US. It was a fascinating talk, followed by a very short break where we rushed to a local restaurant, inhaled a couple of bowls of soup, and returned for an amazing concert in which these two instruments were played. The music was all Mozart and I kept thinking that the same pieces had probably been played on those instruments in Mozart's home. He might have played them himself though the violin belonged to his sister Nanerl. We were thrilled by the idea of it and even more by the amazing playing. What a great way to end a busy day. Did I mention that during much of the day it was raining? Luckily we had our umbrellas.

I don't have much time for commenting tonight. It is late and I am very tired. Perhaps tomorrow. Hope you all are having a great week. I will put a couple of the other photos I took today on my Blipfolio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.