The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Hiding in the grassland.........

I could have blipped so much today, a beautiful common blue butterfly, wings open enjoying the sun, a black tailed skimmer dragonfly who sat patiently on a plantain flower in the grass while I took his picture, or more damselflies.
However, in the end I decided to stick with my original plan and blip this beautiful bee orchid my husband found in the grassland at Southwater country park a few days ago. Since he found it I have been watching it, and today the first flower was fully open, with the promise of more to come.
Southwater Country Park is a 90 acre site developed from a former brickworks and in my opinion a bit of a success story, with many species of wildlife there if you choose to look, including these lovely wild orchids, as well as the more common, common spotted orchid, and an occasional greater butterfly orchid.
At the moment the rough grasses surrounding the lake are teeming with damselflies mostly Azures and blue tailed, but there are also large reds, common blues, white legged and red eyed if you care to look.
I guess to most people visiting, it is just a watersports centre or picnic haven, but as with everything in life, the more time you spend looking, the more you see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.