LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

The Kindness of Neighbours

I have to say that there are times when my faith in the goodness of humanity is given a boost. The tenants in the flat above me whose leaking bath damaged  my bedroom ceiling whilst I was on holiday in Orkney and whose agent’s insurance  did not cover the damage to my flat, decided they would paint the ceiling  themselves because they felt so bad about it. 
They came this morning with cover all plastic sheeting and paint  and after shrouding the whole room in what looked from a distance like a huge spider’s web, and applying  2 coats have decided to paint the end wall too because they see a visible  demarcation line.  I find it unbelievably kind of them as I really never expected their intervention.

I left them for an hour to have coffee with the daughter and admire the grace of a roller skating lad who was entertaining the punters  in Lister Square with his moves.

Having had to stay home this afternoon while the painting was going on, I have been standing on kitchen steps in order to cull all the beyond the sell by date baking ingredients in the wall cupboard above my head. It would appear that I have done little  baking since 2020. I just hope that what I saved as only just over the sell by date will be good to use  in the making of the fruit cake for the forthcoming end of year Festival whose name I cannot make myself write , but it starts with a C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.