HClaireB

By HClaireB

Another sunrise

I was so surprised that I didn’t manage to take an image of the green flash at sunrise. I have heard of “green flashes ” (something to do with the refraction of light through the atmosphere) but I thought they were a product of a vivid imagination until I saw one!

The moonset in the extra was taken one minute later in the opposite direction.

We went for a long, cold, bumpy zodiac ride around the coast of Herschel Island. There are no permanent human residents and the park rangers have finished for the summer so we weren’t allowed to land. The island is a wildlife reserve (caribou, musk ox, arctic fox, etc) and an important bird breeding site in the season. But this late in the year we saw just Glaucous Gulls (the second biggest gull in the world after the Great Black-backed Gull) and tiny Snow Buntings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.