2nd Sat Strollers

By AndrewDBurns

the 'Tree of Strings'

There was a bit of Gaelic running through yesterday's proceedings, the Bride's family having a Barra-connection ...

... indeed, some Sorley MacLean was quoted during the marriage ceremony - all of which, gives me a good excuse to blip (yet again !) some of his wonderful poetry.

This excerpt comes from his 'Poems to Eimhir' sequence; all as taken from within the pictured 2011 'Collected Poems' volume:

  
‘Poems to Eimhir’ XLIII


But for you

But for you the Cuillin would be
an exact and serrated blue rampart
girdling with its march-wall
all that is my fierce heart.

But for you the sand
that is in Talisker compact and white
would be a measureless plain to my expectations
and on it the spear desire would not turn back.

But for you the oceans
in their unrest and their repose
would raise the wave-crests of my mind
and settle them on a high serenity.

And the brown brindled moorland
and my reason would co-extend -
but you imposed on them an edict
above my own pain.

And on a distant luxuriant summit
there blossomed the Tree of Strings,
among its leafy branches your face,
my reason and the likeness of a star.

 ---

Sorley MacLean (1911 – 1996)

---

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.