The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Before... (Saturday 30th September 2023)

Last December the storms and frosts that caused the burst pipes in my outbuilding (still out of commission thanks to the tardiness of insurance companies) also did damage to two of the limestone walls of the 18thC Old Forge.

As the two affected walls face onto the neighbours' property to which I don't have access, I was unaware of this until they pointed it out to me some time later. Lumps of stone had been following onto their paths, eventually also displacing the guttering, as seen in the blip.

Arranging builders to come and give quotes was tricky because of the access problems, especially during my neighbours' frequent spells away, and those that did come tended not to then send on their promised quotes or, if they did, made them so eye-wateringly high as to be untenable. Frost damage, of course, is not covered by insurance.

The builder who dismantled my car port called this morning to arrange a quote and talked over his plans for the job with a neighbour and me, and whilst there I took the opportunity to make photographic records of the damage. I now wait to hear what he reckons it will cost me.

I'm not entering this for Derelict Sunday ;-).

L.
Sunday 1.10.2023 (1552 hr)

Blip #3964 (#3714 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #002
Blips/Extras In 2023 #170/265 + #083/100 Extras
Day #4936 (1162 gaps from 26.3.2010)
Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day #3104 (#2944 + 160 in archived blips)

Old Forge series
Curzon St series


Judy Henske and Jerry Yester - Snowblind (recorded March-May 1967, Hollywood CA)
The cover disc on the current Mojo is called Buried Treasures and is themed around "the greatest album you'd never heard", all featured in their regular Buried Treasure slot. Two I had heard were Nic Jones' Penguin Eggs and the album Farewell Aldebaran, from which this comes (it was also a single). The duo are augmented on this track with drums by Larry Beckett (better known for his lyrics for Tim Buckley).

One year ago:
The Old Forge (Spider)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.