Bright and Beautiful

By ThingsBeautiful

Autumn Leaves

I was reminded of the Robert Frost poem, October when I was photographing this collection of autumn leaves :)

Sad news today....

The Minister who helped me come to Christianity, back in the early nineties passed away, after suffering some years with that cruel disease dementia.

He and his lovely wife were the first ones to visit when I had the first death in my family, my Grandad who I was very close to.  He was the one who started me off through the Alpha course, and he was the one who baptised me by full immersion (in water) in March 1993 on a snowy day.  I was also the last person he baptised before moving to Bournemouth.  I also saw him occasionally when I was doing my 'Footsteps' course with the Southern Counties Baptist Association.

Its odd but the sermon today on 'Salvation' was the very subject that G taught at SCBA!

I'm feeling rather emotional having heard that news after Church today, and I've decided to just chill for the rest of today.

I have many fond memories of G and his wife A, and the work they did  at Newbury Baptist Church.  I know A and the family, via social media these days, but haven't talked to G for a few years now.

Sadly he was in hospital, but they were in the process of moving to a bungalow so he could be nursed at home....

Rest in Peace G, and thankful prayers for all you have done and the many people you have touched.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.