Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Hind and Fawn

I surprised this mother and fawn this morning, who were lying in long grass at the edge of a field.  The hind kept barking at me, I imagined because I had managed to get so close to her fawn, but despite that it kept standing its ground and turning back to challenge me.  She was away from any other in the herd, possibly because of the fawn and the stags were roaring in the distance.  

I went looking to see if I could find the stags, surprising yet more deer in the woodland nearby but only got one clear image of the stag as it headed away from me (see extra).

Later we popped into L's sister's to drop off a birthday present and ended up staying for 4 hours, watching the climax of the Ryder Cup.  At times you wondered where the points were coming from as the USA made a charge, but in the end the win was comfortable and very well deserved.

I do wonder about how partisan the crowds have become, but was reminded that this started back in 1991 at Kiawa Island (dubbed the 'war on the shore').  The rhetoric was pumped up by the Americans early and it spilt over on many occasions during that match.  I'll always remember being at the Belfry in 1985 to watch Europe win for the first time in 27 years and the biennial events have been a must watch event for me ever since.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.