talloplanic views

By Arell

All the busy little creatures

This Red Admiral came visiting my garden this evening, initially alighting on a tarpaulin before spending time amongst the plants.  It was a surprisingly strong flyer too, this one, ducking and diving, then gliding and catching the breeze.  Apparently the males have to give a good show of being magnificent men in their flying machines to get the girls.

I spent eight hours workbenching today and by the end I was done in.  Three of my scaffolding boards were twisted, and it took all morning with the power planer to get two of them approximately flat.  One is thicker than the other though, so, more work.  I did some dowelling too, and made the connections between the top and the base, and then made a start with the wood preserver.  If I didn't know better I'd say it was good old fashioned Gunk in a different bottle.  The smell is pretty incredible.

I didn't have the energy for it really but after all the DIY I hooked up the trailer and cycled to the supermarket for some shopping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.