JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

The path from Cherry Gardens

I had not walked this path for a long time, as it's the start or end of a circular walk which takes me along the valley to North Elham, and back at the other side of the Nailbourne. Although it's a small stream and not always flowing, there are not a huge number of crossing points, so I either have to turn back partway or complete the circuit, which takes longer than I normally have available. On this occasion I just walked down from the edge of the village to the bottom of the valley, into the second field and then back. This meadow has not been grazed for some years, so in autumn it's full of long, dry grass and tall seed heads, with areas of brambles and twisted through with bindweed. It was late in the day, with low light and a covering of cloud, but as I made my way back towards the village a break in the cloud gave me this patch of golden light on the hillside. Our late September weather has been mild and often warm and bright, but the light at this time of day feels very autumnal and the landscape is gently changing into its autumn colours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.