Auguries

By McCaviti

Mobile Sync 3.0

Look what arrived in the mail today!

I do most of my blipping using my iphone (not such a good experience for reading journals but ok for uploading, despite my one finger typing). I have been wanting to get back into using my micro four thirds but the mere act of removing card, finding card reader for my PC, and remembering to put the card back in camera has proved a stumbling block. And it’s no good when you’re on a holiday and want to blip diligently. As my current backblip catalogue attests.

So here’s my solution (drum roll) - a card reader I can plug into my iphone. Arrived in the mail today so very excited! The only downside - having to use my ipad to take this photograph for today’s Mono Monday (theme of cord, thanks laurie45 and libeccio).

It also occurs to me this image can double up as my first attempt at the monthly challenge (theme of Connections). I’ve been an on-and-off blipper (autocorrect blooper) since 2012, and what keeps bringing me back is that sense of community. I cherish the hours spent catching up on the journals I’m following, having a dialogue about an image, discovering novel takes on blip journals (photographing a single theme, sharing poetry, different styles, exotic new locations), and more recently the fun of taking part in these challenges (and then seeing how other people have interpreted them). While other social media can feel like time wasting, this feels so much more fulfilling. Everyone’s journals are so different, it really feels like meeting someone new and having friends all over the world. Maybe one day I’ll even be brave enough to go on a blip meet!

But for now, I’d better catch up on my backblipping!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.