Auguries

By McCaviti

Commonwealth Coinage

Hayfever’s bad at the moment so didn’t venture out much, and somewhat uninspired for my blip. Bearing in mind the Tiny Tuesday theme (thanks Pinkhairedlady), I went through all my pockets hoping to find my lost Moment ND filter. I fear it is truly lost in the Tasmanian wilderness.

Anyway, here’s what I did find - a special fifty cent coin commemorating the 1982 Commonwealth Games in Brisbane. Australia recently pulled out of its promise to host the 2026 games (due to escalating costs), creating quite a furore. I checked to see if a replacement host had been found yet but it doesn’t seem so (and it seems to be contentious who even is responsible for finding one). Perhaps there won’t be any future games …

As a child, my family watched as much of all the games as we could (even the winter games), but I have to confess they no longer hold the same magic. It all seems way too much.

Did you know the Australian women’s soccer team was named after the rather hideous mascot of the 1982 Commonwealth Games (itself a tribute to Waltzing Matilda, the popular song many would prefer as the anthem)?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.