Musing of a Lady

By inkstainedhands

Making Friends

I went back to my favourite spot in Oudewater this afternoon and met this black cat again. He's very friendly and came over to greet me. My parents had taken the Little Man out for a few hours to spend time with my brother and his girlfriend. They did invite me to join them but I was in need of some time alone.

It was the first time I got on my bike since the accident back in April. I wasn't gone for long but just long enough to familiarise myself with the bike and the Dutch biking system. For those of you who aren't Dutch or have lived in the Netherlands, biking is a major part of life here. It's probably the primary form of transport, and bikers have the primary right of way on the roads. There are also more bikes than people in the Netherlands as most people have two bikes, an expensive one for biking with friends, etc, and a cheap granny bike for journeys to and from the train station (in case its stolen then its not a great loss). It felt liberating to be back on the bike again in a country that is so safe for bikers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.