esiuol

By esiuol

One less pigeon in the garden

Welcome to Gore Fest!

Early this afternoon I went to open my bedroom window in order to take a few photos of the bird feeders only to find our ‘friendly’ neighbourhood Sparrowhawk having his lunch! 
We have seen this beautiful bird in the garden a few times recently and think it is a young male but please correct me if I’m wrong. This time he has struck lucky and was stripping the pigeon bare for about 30 minutes whilst fighting off two magpies at the same time. Apologies for the unpleasant pictures but what an impressive bird! 
Unfortunately I was unable to open the window in case I scared him off so these were taken through the glass.

* Update: After a bit more thought and some helpful comments from fellow blippers, I think this is more likely to be a young female sparrowhawk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.