Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Hiding amongst the bracken

This time next week I will be in Slovenia. It seems rather unbelievable as these photography workshop trips are always booked long in advance, this one was booked 18 months ago and now as the the time draws near I am starting to think about what I need to pack. Last night I got Whatsapps from the group that are attending this workshop, there are only six of us in the group and unbelievably five are female and there is only one male! Years ago I was usually the only female in a group of males. Slovenia is about mountains, lakes, beautiful old churches and has been described as being similar in appearance to New Zealand. Regarding my packing, a good portion of my suitcase will consist of food as being gluten and lactose intolerant means I have limited choices, and staying in a small guest house means I need to take my own gluten free bread, oat milk, gluten free snack bars etc. Another woman in our group is also gluten intolerant so at least we will have some say when others want to eat pizza for dinner!

The autumn colours are still slow to come, the bracken is turning and as I was photographing the bracken today I suddenly saw this little face - Xena had decided to get in the scene!

I must now go prepare supper as I am off to camera club tonight, and we have our first PDI (projected digital image) competition of the year. I have come to enjoy competitions as we get very good judges - one of our members is chair of the Surrey Photographic Association judges and lecturers so we get the good ones! You can learn so much about composition and technique from a good judge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.