brambleblossom

By brambleblossom

Simplicity and sacred geometry.

This dress making pattern arrived today and brought back a string of memories, I thought I would share it as I bet most of you have, at one time or another, held a simplicity pattern in your hands . At my high school every pupil was taught to sew and we usually started with one of these .

The black geometric shape belongs to our son in law who is fascinated by sacred geometry. Unfortunately the shape fell off the wall and broke . Dave’s reputation as the family fixer meant that it ended up at our house to await a repair job . He has done what he can and it will be returned tomorrow when we go to pick up our charge.

This morning was busy, on the domestic front, getting ready for our stint of childcare . However the afternoon was spent more leisurely with my good friend Alison , we walked and talked for a few hours along the canal. A walk on the flat was requested as she is recovering from a chest infection. She brought me the gift of a new book , written by Brené Brown, called
Daring Greatly which is about having the courage to be vulnerable. I always feel uplifted when I hang out with her , neither of us can do small talk so we jump straight into the deeper stuff and my brain gets a proper work out .

Tomorrow will involve an early start so it’s bedtime for me !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.